1948 -

Writing as: Max Allan Collins

American crime author Max Allan Collins would have enough reason to be proud of his work if all he did was the acclaimed Nathan Heller private eye series. He had that plus the Nolan series, Mallory series, and Quarry series. And he has written several terrific graphic novels, including the phenomenal Road To Perdition which was turned into a movie starring Tom Hanks and Paul Newman. And he help found an association dedicated to writing movie and tv tie-ins. He also was chosen to take over the Dick Tracy comic strip when the original creator passed away. And he was asked to complete several Mickey Spillane novels after that author passed.

Series Books
Johnny Dynamite Johnny Dynamite (2020)
I Spy I Spy (2002)
Morgan The Raider The Consummata (2011)
Reeder & Rogers Supreme Justice (2014)
  Fate of the Union (2015)
  Executive Order (2017)
John Sand Come Spy With Me (2020)
  Live Fast, Spy Hard (2021)
  To Live And Spy In Berlin (2021)
Other Quarry aka The Broker [Quarry] (1976)
  Quarry's List aka The Broker's Wife [Quarry] (1976)
  Quarry's Deal aka The Dealer [Quarry] (1976)
  Quarry's Cut aka The Slasher [Quarry] (1977)
  Hard Cash [Nolan] (1981)
  Hush Money [Nolan] (1981)
  Fly Paper [Nolan] (1981)
  Blood Money [Nolan] (1981)
  Bait Money [Nolan] (1981)
  Scratch Fever [Nolan] (1982)
  No Cure for Death [Mallory] (1983)
  The Baby Blue Rip-Off [Mallory] (1983)
  True Detective [Nathan Heller] (1983)
  True Crime [Nathan Heller] (1984)
  Kill Your Darlings [Mallory] (1984)
  A Shroud for Aquarius [Mallory] (1985)
  The Million-Dollar Wound [Nathan Heller] (1986)
  Nice Weekend for a Murder [Mallory] (1986)
  Quarry's Vote aka Primary Target [Quarry] (1987)
  The Dark City [Eliot Ness] (1987)
  Spree [Nolan] (1987)
  Butcher's Dozen [Eliot Ness] (1988)
  Neon Mirage [Nathan Heller] (1988)
  Bullet Proof [Eliot Ness] (1989)
  Dick Tracy: The Secret Files [Dick Tracy] (1990)
  Dick Tracy [Dick Tracy] (1990)
  Dick Tracy and the Nightmare Machine [Dick Tracy] (1990)
  Dying in the Post-War World [Nathan Heller] (1991)
  Stolen Away [Nathan Heller] (1991)
  Dick Tracy Goes to War [Dick Tracy] (1991)
  Dick Tracy Meets his Match [Dick Tracy] (1992)
  In the Line of Fire [novelization] (1993)
  Murder by the Numbers [Eliot Ness] (1993)
  I Love Trouble [novelization] (1994)
  Maverick [novelization] (1994)
  Carnal Hours [Nathan Heller] (1994)
  Waterworld [novelization] (1995)
  Blood and Thunder [Nathan Heller] (1995)
  Damned in Paradise [Nathan Heller] (1996)
  Air Force One [novelization] (1997)
  Flying Blind [Nathan Heller] (1998)
  Saving Private Ryan [novelization] (1998)
  U.S. Marshals [novelization] (1998)
  Majic Man [Nathan Heller] (1999)
  Mourn the Living [Nolan] (1999)
  The Mummy [novelization] (1999)
  U-571 [novelization] (2000)
  Angel in Black [Nathan Heller] (2001)
  Kisses of Death [Nathan Heller] (2001)
  The Mummy Returns [novelization] (2001)
  Windtalkers [novelization] (2002)
  The Scorpion King [novelization] (2002)
  Chicago Confidential [Nathan Heller] (2002)
  Dick Tracy: The Collins Casefiles, Vol 1(October, 2003) [Dick Tracy] (2003)
  Quarry's Greatest Hits [Quarry] (2003)
  Dick Tracy: The Collins Casefiles, Vol 2 [Dick Tracy] (2004)
  The Pink Panther [novelization] (2005)
  Dick Tracy: The Collins Casefiles, Vol 3 [Dick Tracy] (2005)
  The Last Quarry [Quarry] (2006)
  The X-Files: I Want to Believe [novelization] (2008)
  The First Quarry [Quarry] (2008)
  The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor [novelization] (2008)
  G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra [novelization] (2009)
  Quarry In The Middle [Quarry] (2009)
  Quarry's Ex [Quarry] (2010)
  Bye Bye, Baby [Nathan Heller] (2011)
  Chicago Lightning [Nathan Heller] (2011)
  Target Lancer [Nathan Heller] (2012)
  Triple Play: A Nathan Heller Casebook [Nathan Heller] (2012)