Maclane_Drew1 Maclane_Drew2
Full Name: Drew MacLane
Nationality: American
Organization: CIA
Occupation Agent

Creator: David Morrell
Time Span: 1985 - 1987


Drew MacLane is an assassin for the CIA.

When he was nine and witnessed his diplomat father murdered in Tokyo, MacLane trusted his uncle. Ray took him in and trained him to someday get his revenge. When he was old enough, Ray introduced him to Scalpel, a subgroup with the CIA meant to deal harshly with terrorists. The next few years saw MacLane becoming one of their top agents. Finally an assignment hit a bit too close to home and MacLane walked out.

At the age of 31, when much of his adult life still in front of him, MacLane withdrew from society. He applied for, and after a considerable vetting period, was finally accepted into one of the harshest orders in the Catholic faith, the Carthusians. These monastic brothers existed in what amounted to a community of hermits. Each man was given his own cell, a small living area in which to meditate. They were allowed to speak on only one day a week and even then for just a short time while on walks outside the enclave.

For the next six years, he lived this quiet, secluded, forsaking the outside world. Then the outside world came to him. His location had been found and those who came did so attacking, killing everyone there except MacLane who survived by a fluke. Now MacLane is back, angry and wanting revenge.

MacLane is a natural-born fighter and is extremely gifted at it. With the training he received from Scalpel, he was immensely good at it. Proof of this is the fact that, upon arrival in New York to begin his revenge, he is broke with just the clothes on his back. He knew the best way to make quick money was to walk the streets at night. Within an hour or two he had been accosted by four different muggers out to get whatever he had. The end result was four muggers with busted kneecaps and other ailments and MacLane had well over two hundred of their dollars.


Number of Books:2
First Appearance:1985
Last Appearance:1987

1 The Fraternity Of The Stone The Fraternity Of The Stone
Written by David Morrell
Copyright: 1985

MacLane loved his Uncle Ray and trusted him completely. It never occurred to him that he was being used by Ray until Ray tried to have him killed. Now MacLane wants revenge.
buy from Amazon

2 The League Of Night And Fog The League Of Night And Fog
Written by David Morrell
Copyright: 1987

Old men are disappearing. If they were dieing no one would probably notice but these were disappearing and that makes Grisman very curious. His investigation leads him to David MacLane who also wants to know why.
buy from Amazon


I think the world of David Morrell. His novels are compelling, his action awesome, and his characters are realistic. From the day I read First Blood I liked his work. When I read his next book, I cried in several spots and cursed in others, it was so good.

It is with pleasure that I include two of his two-book series to this group. These two books are linked and form a sort of trilogy as the second book in this series co-stars the lead character from the other series, Saul Grisman.

All three books deserve reading.


My Grade: A-

Your Average Grade:   A+


DHolloway A+ 2016-08-17

I really liked this trilogy! I hadn't read this author before I found him on your site. But I enjoyed these books immensely. Great characters, well written action, overall, very well done. Highly recommended.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.