Sansborough_Liz1 Sansborough_Liz2 sansborough_liz_nv_thfd
Full Name: Liz Sansborough
Nationality: American
Organization: CIA
Occupation Agent

Creator: Gayle Lynds
Time Span: 1996 - 2006


Liz Sansborough is an agent with the CIA.

As you read the first book, you quickly grow to question that statement. An important mystery regarding Sansborough is her identity. Is she an agent trained to hunt down one of the best contract assassins working the political field. Or she is an assassin herself, working with that assassin, named the Carnivore. Or she is a reporter who looks enough like her cousin to be mistaken for her. Each of these is part of the truth behind the puzzle that is Liz Sansborough.

The mystery behind these questions make up the first book as the reader is shown the situation behind the problem and learns along with the characters what the truth really is. The second book does not have that situation but lets the reader follow the main character as she learns to deal with the truth.

Sansborough is the child of agents, two people who were very good at what they did and from whom she learned a lot of her tradecraft, even if she did not know she was learning it at the time. It was only natural that she would go to work with Langley. She had been an agent for several years but grew tired of the violence and wanted out so she left. Just wanting to get out, though, is often not enough especially if the agent is the daughter of the world's best assassin, Hal Sansborough aka the Carnivore, and neither he nor those who he works with nor those he works against is willing to let her go.

She is forced to show everyone that, while she does not like what she has to do, she is very, very good at doing it.


Number of Books:2
First Appearance:1996
Last Appearance:2003

1 Masquerade Masquerade
Written by Gayle Lynds
Copyright: 1996

Waking with no memory is bad enough but to be told that you are really a CIA agent and that there are others you can't remember that want you dead, well, that's rough as Liz finds out.

2 The Coil The Coil
Written by Gayle Lynds
Copyright: 2003

Out of the CIA and out of danger, now a professor, Liz Sansborough is pulled back into it when her cousin is kidnapped and the miscreants want something Liz doesn't have.


Number of Stories:1
First Appearance:2006
Last Appearance:2006

1 The Hunt For Dimitri The Hunt For Dimitri
Written by Gayle Lynds
Copyright: 2006

Liz Sansborough is put to the ultimate test, one that involves a character who goes by the rather ominous sobriquet of the Carnivore.
This was originally published in the anthology Thriller and is not a Kindle Single.
buy from Amazon


When I first read the first book in this series soon after it came out, I walked away a bit confused. There was a lot going on in my life at the time and I did not give the book the chance it deserved and did not give it the credit it was warranted. Almost a decade and half later, I tried again and saw that what I suspected was true - Ms. Lynds can absolutely, definitely write.

"Certainly the author's work on other books shows she is a darned good writer. I sometimes am not a darned good reader." Those are the words I used in My Comments the first time and I happily, readily eat those words.

Ms. Lynds, if you had the misfortune of reading my comments back then, I apologize. I have read these two books again and totally change my previous opinion and would like to think that you will give us more of Liz Sansborough.


My Grade: B+


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.