ainsworth_evelyn_bk_wwg ainsworth_evelyn_nv_tc ainsworth_evelyn_bk_tis ainsworth_evelyn_bk_nfon ainsworth_evelyn_bk_toa ainsworth_evelyn_bk_itis
Full Name: Evelyn Ainsworth
Series Name: A Shadows of War Thriller
Nationality: British
Organization: MI6
Occupation Agent

Creator: C. W. Browning
Time Span: 2020 - 2022


Evelyn 'Evie' Ainsworth is an agent of MI6.

The time period of her activities with that British intelligence organization starts in 1938 when Hitler begins his expansion plans having just taken over Austria and making demands for the 'return' of the Sudetenland in Czechoslovakia. Even as English Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain was willing to make concessions to the German leader to ensure peace, many are certain that war was inevitable. One of those so believing is Ainsworth.

When we meet her briefly the first time, it is 1930 and she is 12 years old and living with her father in Hong Kong, sneaking away at times to explore the city and improve her Cantonese. Leap ahead to 1936 and the 18-year-old might be looking forward to returning to England but not the coming-out party her mother has planned. She has been struggling to learn Russian but takes pride in having become adept at the martial arts of Kung Fu, or Wing Chun to her. And then another quick jump to 1938 to watch her enjoying a visit in Paris even as she becomes certain that war with Germany was now inevitable and she is frustrated that while her older brother had already joined the RAR to fly fighters, she was not doing her part. She would change that last.

Her fun-living days quickly get shoved behind her as the terrors and horrors of war present themselves and Ainsworth finds something surprising about herself - she is actually pretty good at what it takes to be an undercover operative and, if she would admit it to herself, she enjoyed it.


Number of Books:5
First Appearance:2020
Last Appearance:2022

1 The Oslo Affair The Oslo Affair
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2020

Evelyn Ainsworth is still mourning the loss of her father when her MI6 bosses ask her to head to Oslo to meet a double agent. Her mission plans seem to be known by both the German SS and the Soviet NKVD from the time she headed out and someone, perhaps from those groups but perhaps not, do not want her to survive the trip.
buy from Amazon

2 Night Falls on Norway Night Falls on Norway
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2020

The date is Spring, 1940. MI6 sends Evelyn Ainsworth back to Oslo on a mission that everyone is certain will be a safe one since no one knows she is coming this time. They are wrong. They also did not expect that Hitler would be sending his forces in to take over the country.
buy from Amazon

3 The Iron Storm The Iron Storm
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2021

The date is May, 1940. As Hitler's forces secure their control of Norway and head towards Holland and Belgium, Evelyn Ainsworth is sent to Brussels to pick up a package containing stolen blueprints. meet with a contact from the Soviet Union and then get out. Unfortunately the SS knows the plans are in Brussels and send two deadly operatives to get them back and kill whoever is holding them.
buy from Amazon

4 Into The Iron Shadows Into The Iron Shadows
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2021

Evelyn Ainsworth has fled from Belgium to Paris but the German army is heading there as well. Her seemingly impossible task is to find a way out and back to England even as the Wehrmacht controls the land and the Luftwaffe the air.
buy from Amazon

5 When Wolves Gather When Wolves Gather
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2022

Evelyn Ainsworth is taking a much needed holiday in London when the German Luftwaffe begins its Battle of Britain. When she learns that there is in England's capital a group of traitors, she is determined to learn all the players and bring them down.


Number of Stories:1
First Appearance:2020
Last Appearance:2020

1 The Courier The Courier
Written by C. W. Browning
Copyright: 2020

The year is 1938. Hitler is strengthening the forces in Germany even as England and France strive for appeasement. Evelyn Ainsworth is living in Paris with some relatives and having a blast. Then her visiting father asks a small favor of her which will lead to her receiving vital intel from a man out of Munich. That request will change her life forever.
buy from Amazon


I was a huge fan of the author, C. W. Browning, from another series he crafted, Alina Maschik, so I was very pleased at the opportunity to try something else he had penned. If I had any expectation that the style would be the same (and I likely did), it was pleasantly proven wrong. The Ainsworth stories are not a bit like Maschik's.

And yet! I really enjoyed them a lot.

The Ainsworth tales are a lot more somber and gray, but naturally since they take place during an especially somber and gray period of history, they should be. The author nailed it.

So, which series would I hope the author keeps going? Both, of course.


My Grade: A


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.