brennan_joe_bk_tgom brennan_joe_bk_sa
Full Name: Joe Brennan
Nationality: American
Organization: CIA
Occupation Agent

Creator: Sam Powers
Time Span: 2015 - 2021


Joe Brennan is an agent with the CIA.

He has been an operative for quite a few years, nearly a dozen when we first meet him, working in a field that seemed to change every year. A former SEAL who had put in a fair number of years in that profession, the last several of the Navy years were certainly spent attached to or working closely with Langley because though it is stated that he had worked as a civilian with the CIA in the National Clandestine Service department for seven years when we first meet him, he has been married to an Agency analyst for over a decade.

Carolyn is his wife's name and they have two young children, Jessica and Josh. They are a very happy family but like all families there are some issues that have come up. For one, Carolyn is an up-and-comer at headquarters and the potential is strong that she will rise in stature. Brennan, on the other hand, has no interest in or time for playing the political game. For another, Carolyn's job allows her to come home each night, albeit sometimes late, while Brennan's work takes him routinely out of the country for weeks at a time.

In our first meeting with him, Brennan has started to rethink his lifestyle in that regards, musing that being gone so long so often is not what he really wants. And Carolyn also opined that "his kids deserved a father who was around, not one who used the spectre of honor and duty to his country to skip out of town whenever he felt the itch."

Already mentioned that this 6' tall athletic agent did not play the hobnobbing game well, Brennan has had more than a couple of run-ins with desk jockeys who do play it and has rubbed wrong more than one person. According to someone higher up the chain, "Brennan was the kind of troublemaking know-it-all who would interject with a problem whenever possible." Obviously, the two did not get along very well.


Number of Books:3
First Appearance:2015
Last Appearance:2021

The first book in this series is a collation of three previously released shorter novels, marked when first released as a trilogy This is not a collection or omnibus, which would have three adventures combined into one volume, but is a new single adventure.

0 Bangkok Deadly Bangkok Deadly
Written by Sam Powers
Copyright: 2021

A prequel adventure explaining how Joe Brennan is recruited by the CIA.
Joe Brennan has left the navy, putting the SEALS and the trials of Afghanistan behind him. He's taking a long-deserved vacation in Thailand when he meets a mysterious American woman. When she disappears, his curiosity leads him into a world of seedy smugglers, powerful street gangs and a culture not his own. Whether he saves her or not, people are paying attention to how he performs under deadly pressure...

buy from Amazon

1 Shadow Agenda Shadow Agenda
Written by Sam Powers
Copyright: 2015

It had been long rumored that a nuclear weapon on out there to be bought and now it is supposedly available if the price was right. Joe Brennan learns that an old friend and mentor had been killed while checking out the rumor and now it falls to Brennan to ascertain the truth. He will team up with a reporter out for the same story in a chase that will take them from South America to the south of France then to the capitol cities of Paris and Washington to stop a huge catastrophe.
[Note: this large volume combines into one adventure three previously released parts of a trilogy. The parts were named Betrayer of Kings, Deadman Switch, and Fallout Zone.
buy from Amazon

2 The Ghosts Of Mao The Ghosts Of Mao
Written by Sam Powers
Copyright: 2019

The agents had been in place for three decades, sleeper agents known as the Ghosts of Mao. Now something has triggered their awakening and they threaten a major international peace conference. To stop them are two agents, Joe Brennan from the CIA and Chinese agent Daisy Lee, who must move the back alleys of Macau to the busy streets of L.A. to stop a horrific incident.
buy from Amazon


I have enjoyed this series. I was a little confused when the first three books were united into one book but then while writing this entry, I noticed (duh!) that the promos clearly talked about their being a trilogy so the fault lay with me and not the author/publisher.

Brennan is the kind of reliable but strong-headed agent I like to follow. I also very much enjoyed Carolyn for she is definitely her own woman with her own ambitions but there are times when Brennan's independent streak and lack of desire to play nice with the home office does clash with her plans for the future. No huge angst or conflict to deal with but enough there to make it realistic.

The first book/trilogy came out several years ago but the second full adventure just recently arrived so perhaps that means the author is open to more adventures for Brennan. I hope so.


My Grade: A-


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.