1929 -

Writing as: Len Deighton

Born in Marylebone, London, Leonard (Len) Deighton performed his National Service as a photographer for the RAF's Special Investigation Branch. Thereafter he earned a scholarship to the Royal College of Art. In addition to working as an illustrator, he also earned money for a time as an airline steward with the BOAC. After his first book was published, he used his knowledge of and interest in cooking to become the cookery writer for The Observer and even illustrated cookbooks. He also earned money writing travel guides, including a time as travel editor for Playboy. With no doubt or argument, Len Deighton is universally considered one of the giants and pioneers of espionage fiction.

Series Books
Harry Palmer The Ipcress File (1962)
  Horse Under Water (1963)
  Funeral In Berlin (1964)
  The Billion Dollar Brain (1966)
  An Expensive Place To Die (1967)
Bernard Samson Berlin Game (1983)
  Mexico Set (1985)
  London Match (1985)
  Winter: A Novel Of A Berlin Family (1987)
  Spy Hook (1988)
  Spy Line (1989)
  Spy Sinker (1990)
  Faith (1994)
  Hope (1995)
  Charity (1996)
Other An Expensive Place To Die (1967)
  Only When I Larf (1968)
  Bomber (1970)
  Declarations of War (1971)
  Close-Up (1972)
  Spy Story (1974)
  Yesterday's Spy (1975)
  Catch a Falling Spy aka Twinkle Twinkle Little Spy (1976)
  Fighter - the True Story of the Battle of Britain (1977)
  SS-GB (1978)
  XPD (1981)
  Goodbyer, Mickey Mouse (1982)
  Mamista (1991)
  City of Gold (1992)
  Violent Ward (1993)