1875 - 1940

Writing as: John Buchan

The Right Honourable the Lord Tweedsmuir, GCMG GCVO CH PC, 15th Governor General of Canada. With one of the most impressive backgrounds of any of the authors to have penned a spy series, John Buchan can add one more - a Father of the Spy Series. His creation, Richard Hannay, represents one of the very first successful series about a spy, albeit a gentleman engineer, forced into service. Born in Perth, Scotland, he studied to be a lawyer but instead went into the diplomatic service as a private secretary to the High Commissioner for South Africa. During WWI he was an officer in the Intelligence Corps.

Series Books
Richard Hannay The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915)
  Greenmantle (1916)
  Mr. Standfast (1919)
  The Three Hostages (1924)
  The Runagates Club (1928)
  The Green Wildebeest (ss) (1928)
  The Courts Of The Morning (1929)
  The Island Of Sheep (1936)
  Sick Heart River (1941)
Dickson McCunn Huntingtower (1922)
  Castle Gay (1930)
  The House Of The Four Winds (1935)