Searchers_The1 Searchers_The3 Searchers_The2
Full Name: Laika Harris, Tony Luciano, and Joseph Stein
Series Name: The Searchers
Nationality: American
Organization: CIA
Occupation Agent

Creator: Chet Williamson
Time Span: 1998 - 1999


The Searchers are agents for the CIA.

The three operatives who make up this group, Laika Harris, Tony Luciano and Joseph Stein, are highly trained and "uniquely talented" operatives whose primary mission is to use these talents to seek out and debunk psychic tricksters and other frauds who were beginning to pose a threat to the safety of the country.

Soon after joining, though, they begin to realize that there are forces at play that make their first mission seem dull. In time, they learned their biggest role was the search for the one known as the Prisoner. They also learned that the power of the Prisoner is as old as time.

Laika Harris is a 30-something black female with coffee colored skin and 5'10" body most of which seeming to be legs. She was an experience agent with more than a decade spent running ops in various parts of the world including deep inside China. She has had to kill to stay alive and found that while she did not want to or like to use force, she could when needed and did it well.

Joseph Stein in a tall man in his mid 40's with thinning blond hair and pale blue eyes often hid behind aviator sunglasses. He is intuitive and smart but the best tool in his arsenal is his ability to put himself in the same frame of mind as the one being investigated, letting himself think like the person to predict what that person was likely to do next.

Tony Luciano, a man who decidedly did not like anyone calling him Lucky, was shorter than most agents and was rather stocky but very muscular and visibly quite able to handle himself easily. Even more impressive, though, was his empathetic ability to persuade people to do things and tell things they might otherwise not.

These are the trio that make up the Searchers and, while they had not worked together before the start of the series, they quickly learn to trust each other and to work as if they had been a team for years.


Number of Books:3
First Appearance:1998
Last Appearance:1999

1 City Of Iron City Of Iron
Written by Chet Williamson
Copyright: 1998

The disappearance of an artist starts the case but it is the appearance of eleven burned bodies that really get the mission going, for the bodies seem to be centeries old.

2 Empire Of Dust Empire Of Dust
Written by Chet Williamson
Copyright: 1998

The Searchers find their quest to capture The Prisoner takes them to the Southwest of the U.S. and a fight with fanatics determined to bring the Prisoner to power.

3 Siege Of Stone Siege Of Stone
Written by Chet Williamson
Copyright: 1999

Even as they know they are nearing the end of their search, the death of an FBI agent puts them on the wrong side of the law.


The indications are strong that this was always intended to be a trilogy as each book leads straight into the next. It was also like what would happen if the X-Files changed agencies.

The writing style is fast-paced and easy to follow. Action is heavy and fun.

It is an enjoyable time. The characters are unique and very, very interesting and the easy way they have of working with each other is a delight. The bad guy they eventually go up against is truly bad and quite scary.

I would not have minded if it had been more than a threesome as these guys are a hoot.


My Grade: C+


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.