Nichols_Jane1 Nichols_Jane2
Full Name: Jane Nichols
Nationality: British
Organization: MI5
Occupation Agent

Creator: Maureen Tan
Time Span: 1997 - 1999


Jane Nichols is an agent for MI-5.

For eleven years, since she was 22, Jane Nichols has served the Crown as an undercover agent. Even when, seven years ago, a tragic turn of events cost the life of Jane Nichols' love and partner in an assignment, she stayed on, though this would continue to haunt her in her career as a counter-terrorism expert.

One of the ways she has been able to fight back the ghosts and put up with the stress of deep cover, especially in Ireland against the IRA, is through a secondary career as a writer. For several years she has earned a good income and even better reputation as the writer of the Andrew Jax, private eye, series of novels.

Naturally, the dual professions is kept a close secret so no one in the publishing business is aware of her primary role and those in MI-5 who might know aren't talking. The persona of the macho, extremely capable Jax is, however, extremely cathartic and one of the reasons she has stayed sane as long as she has.

Still, nothing lasts forever, and her changing lifestyle is the subject of the two-book series. This change comes from a relationship she develops while on a forced leave, living and writing in Savannah, Georgia, falling in love with the sheriff of the county. Though work takes her back to England, it also will push her back to America, presenting interesting problems.

While on the job, Nichols is a cool an operative as any could have wished. She knows what it takes to get the job done and she is determined to do it. She has a great deal of pride in her professionalism even though she knows it has cost her dearly in her personal life.


Number of Books:2
First Appearance:1997
Last Appearance:1999

1 AKA Jane AKA Jane
Written by Maureen Tan
Copyright: 1997

The murder of another member of the MI-5 team in Ireland convinces Jane Nichols she needs a break. She suddenly decides to head to America, specifically Savannah, where she might rest, catch up on her writing, and maybe even get a lead on the killer of her lover years before.

2 Run Jane Run Run Jane Run
Written by Maureen Tan
Copyright: 1999

Returning to work in England, Jane Nichols is assigned to help in a strange kidnapping case but soon becomes entangled in a plot that brings back memories of her parents' death. It appears that there is something brewing to destroy her which forces her to return to Savannah yet again.


The two-book series about Jane Nichols is a combination of romance and mystery set in an espionage environment and added to by a fictitious hard-boiled private eye element. It sounds like a big mishmash. It isn't. It is quite good.

I liked Jane. I liked the people she worked with and dealt with. I liked the author's style of writing and her wonderful ability of description. I like the thought that Ms. Tan might some day give us another adventure with Jane, although with now more than a decade having passed, I am less confident.


My Grade: B+


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.