mason_bridgett_bk_p mason_bridgett_bk_o mason_bridgett_bk_paep
Full Name: Bridget Mason
Nationality: American
Organization: ODNI
Occupation Agent

Creator: Eric J. Gates
Time Span: 2014 - 2019


Bridget Mason is an agent with the ODNI.

That stands for the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. In explanation of who they are, their website states: "Our mission is to lead intelligence integration and forge an intelligence community that delivers the most insightful intelligence possible". It goes on to explain "The core mission of the ODNI is to lead the IC in intelligence integration, forging a community that delivers the most insightful intelligence possible. ODNI's National Centers integrate and coordinate the activities of the entire IC, or in some cases,

broader U.S. Government in the IC's major mission areas: counterterrorism, cybersecurity, counterproliferation and counterintelligence".

Mason holds the rank of Major in the U.S. Army having come to the ODNI from working for some time in the DIA.

She is by nature not a trusting individual. "She never took anything on faith", we are told and one of her long held tenets preached to her by her father was 'Always check the truth you are given". That at times puts her at odds with her colleagues and especially her superiors because she wants the truth, not just convenient non-wave-making stories. More than once she has been told to drop a matter or bury it. She takes the orders under advisement.

An interesting tidbit is the corollary to the Army's training instructions about encountering snakes in the field and what to do with them is the 'Bridget Mason' rule: Assume she is dangerous and leave her alone.

Having someone as determined and dangerous as Mason will be vital when the strangeness of the two main adventures is encountered.


Number of Books:2
First Appearance:2014
Last Appearance:2019

The ordering of these adventures, along with the number of them I mention, is different than you will find online.

I believe it is best for anyone reading this series to read the prequel collection first. The first of the two stories does not have Mason in it but it is vital to understanding the second story.

Then you will have a better feel of the protagonist before you encounter the strangeness of the books.

0 Pride And Extreme Prejudice Pride And Extreme Prejudice
Written by Eric J. Gates
Copyright: 2019

A prequel collection of two novellas, Bridget Mason being in the second one:
Pride - tells of an FBI agent's arrest of a famous paid assassin and a miscalculation that cost him a lot.
Extreme Prejudice - Someone is divulging plans of the coalition troops in Afghanistan and Captain Bridget Mason is determined to catch him. Covert agent Kris is determined to keep her alive while she does it. Unfortunately for them both, Mason is an independent sort and Kris is far more violent than she would like.
buy from Amazon

1 Outsourced Outsourced
Written by Eric J. Gates
Copyright: 2014

A best-selling author receives a curious package which will change his life and not necessarily for the better. It was sent to him by a rival writer who got it from an assassin. The device can convert thoughts into a form of reality. DoD agent Bridget Mason gets involved and it will change her life, too.
buy from Amazon

2 Primed Primed
Written by Eric J. Gates
Copyright: 2016

In need of an easy case after almost dying on her last one, Bridget Mason gets nothing of the sort. Nic Stiles fesses up on what really transpired in India. Phil Beasley get them in trouble with the Russian mafiya. And the Pen is still quite active.
buy from Amazon


I strongly (and I mean that!) recommend readers just coming to this series read Pride And Extreme Prejudice, a prequel, before the first two. I didn't the first time I approached this series and that was a mistake. I believe that so much that I have reordered the books from the way that Amazon, for one, list them.

It is in the novella Extreme Prejudice that you really should meet Mason and when you do, you are likely to get to like her. Then when you go on to the first full-length book and things get a bit strange (which it does) at least when Mason shows up you will feel like you know her.

From that comment, then, you might see that the first book is a strange one. Interesting but strange. A bizarre mixture of sci-fi (or paranormal or horror) and spy-fi. It will not be to everyone's liking but at least Mason will be in it.


My Grade: B


Be the first to leave your own comments about this series.

Tell us what you think of the series. Give your grade and comments.

Your Grade:
Your Comments:

To give your opinion, you must be logged in.

Sign In

SpyGuysAndGals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and links with the Buy from Amazon button are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.