1912 - 2006

Writing as: Michael Gilbert

Born in England, Michael Gilbert earned his living as a lawyer in London but still found time to produce an impressive list of books, mostly mysteries, which were themselves quite impressive. He served in the Royal Army during WWII. At one point he was a POW but he and another man escaped and marched over 500 miles to freedom. He was named Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America in 1988. He had already been made an CBE.

Series Books
Calder & Behrens A Prince of Abyssinia (ss) (1962)
  On Slay Down (ss) (1962)
  The Cat Cracker (ss) (1962)
  The Headmaster (ss) (1962)
  Trembling's Tours (ss) (1962)
  Prometheus Unbound (ss) (1962)
  Cross-Over (ss) (1963)
  The Spoilers (ss) (1965)
  Heilige Nacht (ss) (1966)
  The Road to Damascus (ss) (1966)
  Double, Double (ss) (1967)
  "Upon the King..." (ss) (1967)
  The Twilight of the Gods (ss) (1967)
  Game Without Rules (1968)
  The Peaceful People (ss) (1968)
  Emergency Exit (ss) (1968)
  Churchill's Men (ss) (1968)
  One-to-Ten (ss) (1968)
  St. Ethelburga and the Angel of Death (ss) (1969)
  The African Tree Beavers (ss) (1971)
  The Lion and the Virgin (ss) (1971)
  The Decline and Fall of Mr. Behrens (ss) (1973)
  Signal Tresham (ss) (1980)
  Early Warning (ss) (1981)
  The Mercenaries (ss) (1981)
  The Killing of Michael Finnegan (ss) (1981)
  The Last Reunion (ss) (1981)
  Mr. Calder and Mr. Behrens (1982)
  Anything for a Quiet Life (ss) (1983)
  The Murder of Diana Devon and other Mysteries (2009)
Luke Pagan Ring of Terror (1995)
  Into Battle (1996)
  Over and Out (1998)
Other Close Quarters [Insp. Hazlerigg] (1947)
  He Didn’t Mind Danger aka They Never Looked Inside [Insp. Hazlerigg] (1949)
  The Doors Open [Insp. Hazlerigg] (1949)
  Smallbone Deceased [Insp. Hazlerigg] (1950)
  Death Has Deep Roots [Insp. Hazlerigg] aka Breakout (1951)
  The Danger Within aka Death in Captivity (1952)
  Fear to Tread [Insp. Hazlerigg] (1953)
  The Country-House Burglar aka Sky High (1955)
  Be Shot for Sixpence (1956)
  Blood and Judgment [Insp. Petrella (1959)
  A Clean Kill (play) (1960)
  The Bargain (play) (1961)
  The Shot in Question (Constable, 1963, pb) Play. (1963)
  After the Fine Weather (1963)
  The Crack in the Teacup (1966)
  The Dust and the Heat aka Overdrive (1967)
  The Etruscan Net aka The Family Tomb (1969)
  Stay of Execution (1971)
  The Body of a Girl [Warren Mercer] (1972)
  Amateur in Violence aka The Unstoppable Man (1973)
  The Ninety-Second Tiger (1973)
  Flash Point (Hodder, 1974, hc) [London] Harper, 1974. (1974)
  The Night of the Twelfth (1976)
  Petrella at Q [Insp. Petrella] (1977)
  The Empty House (Hodder, 1978, hc) [England] Harper, 1979. (1978)
  Death of a Favourite Girl aka The Killing of Katie Steelstock (1980)
  End-Game aka The Final Throw (1982)
  The Black Seraphim (1983)
  The Long Journey Home (1985)
  Trouble (1987)
  Young Petrella [Insp. Petrella] (1988)
  Paint, Gold and Blood (1989)
  Anything for a Quiet Life [Jonas Pickett] (1990)
  The Queen Against Karl Mullen (1991)
  Roller-Coaster [Insp. Petrella (1993)
  Ring of Terror [Luke Pagan] (1995)
  The Man Who Hated Banks and other mysteries (1997)
  Into Battle [Luke Pagan] (1997)
  Over and Out [Luke Pagan] (1998)
  The Mathematics of Murder (2000)