1927 - 2001

Writing as: Robert Ludlum, Jonathan Ryder, Michael Shepherd

Born in New York City, Mr. Ludlum lost his father at a very early age. Nevertheless, he was able to attend quality schools as he grew up. He tried to join the Canadian Air Force to fight in WWII but was turned down. He rebounded by joining the U.S. Marines and serving in the South Pacific from 1945-1947. Returning to civilian life, he attended Wesleyan University in Connecticut and got a BA from there. His first major career was as a producer and an actor in the theater and it was there that he learned the pacing and presentation that made for an exciting adventure, rules he would used religiously in his later writings. Though some critics derided his stories as melodramic, the reading public had a totally different take on this exceptional talent and his books sold in the millions.

Series Books
Robert Ludlum
Jason Bourne The Bourne Identity (1980)
  The Bourne Supremacy (1986)
  The Bourne Ultimatum (1990)
Covert One The Hades Factor (2000)
Paul Janson The Janson Directive (2002)
  The Janson Command (2012)
  The Janson Option (2014)
Bray Scofield The Matarese Circle (1979)
  The Matarese Countdown (1997)
Other The Scarlatti Inheritance (1971)
  The Osterman Weekend (1972)
  The Matlock Paper (1973)
  The Rhinemann Exchange (1974)
  The Gemini Contenders (1976)
  The Chancellor Manuscript (1977)
  The Holcroft Covenant (1978)
  The Parsifal Mosaic (1982)
  The Acquitaine Progression (1984)
  The Icarus Agenda (1988)
  The Road to Omaha (1992)
  The Scorpio Illusion (1993)
  The Apocalypse Watch (1995)
  The Prometheus Deception (2000)
Jonathan Ryder
Other The Cry of the Halidon (1974)
  Trevayne (1989)
Michael Shepherd
Other The Road to Gandolfo (1975)