1912 - 1980

Writing as: Bill S. Ballinger, Frederic Freyer, B. X. Sanborn

The author of at least 30 books, Mr. Ballinger, born in Iowa, also wrote a large number of scripts for radio shows before turning his considerable talent to television where he penned more than 100 teleplays. Several of these were for Alfred Hitchcock Presents but he also wrote one or more for such popular dramas as Ironside, Bonanza, and I Spy. He is created with at least 2 movies as well. For some time as he perfected his writing skills, he was an associate professor of writing at the California State Univerisyt, Northridge. He won the prestigious Edgar Award in 1958 for his novel The Longest Second.

Series Books
Bill S. Ballinger
Joaquin Hawks The Spy In The Jungle (1965)
  The Chinese Mask (1965)
  The Spy In Bangkok (1965)
  The Spy At Angkor Wat (1966)
  The Spy In The Java Sea (1966)
Other The Body in the Bed (1948)
  The Body Beautiful (1949)
  Portrait in Smoke aka Deadlier Sex (1950)
  The Darkening Door (1952)
  Rafferty aka The Beautiful Trap (1953)
  The Beautiful Trap (1955)
  The Tooth and the Nail (1955)
  The Wife of the Red-Haired Man (1957)
  The Longest Second (1957)
  Beacon in the Night (1958)
  The Deadlier Sex (1958)
  Formula for Murder (1958)
  The Fourth of Forever (1963)
  Not I, Said the Vixen (1965)
  The Heir Hunters (1966)
  The Source of Fear (1968)
  The Lopsided Man (1969)
  The 49 Days of Death (1969)
  Heist Me Higher (1969)
  The Corsican (1974)
  The Law (1975)
Frederic Freyer
Other The Black, Black Hearse aka The Case Of .. (1955)
B. X. Sanborn
Other The Blonde on Borrowed Time aka The Doom-Maker (1960)