1913 - 1998

Writing as: Gavin Black

The son of Scottish missionaries, he grew up in Japan and the Far East, giving his novels an extraordinary realism. At the age of 19, he returned to Scotland and studied at the University of Edinburgh. It was during that time that he started his writing. During WWII, he served in the Scots Guard where at one point he was captured and spent three years as a prisoner of war. After the war, he returned to Scotland where he lived the rest of his life.

Series Books
Paul Harris Suddenly At Singapore (1960)
  Dead Man Calling (1962)
  A Dragon For Christmas (1963)
  The Eyes Around Me (1964)
  You Want To Die, Johnny? (1966)
  A Wind Of Death (1967)
  The Cold Jungle (1969)
  A Time For Pirates (1971)
  The Bitter Tea (1972)
  The Golden Cockatrice (1974)
  Gale Force (1975)
  Killer Moon (1976)
  Night Run From Java (1979)
Other The Fatal Shadow (1983)
  A Path for Serpents (1991)