1915 - 1975

Writing as: Frank Archer, Richard O'Connor, Patrick Wayland

According to a bio in the Maine State Library notes: "Biographer and novelist Richard O'Connor lived in Trenton, ME. He also wrote under the pen names Patrick Wayland, John Burke, and Frank Archer. He was born in LaPorte, IN and attended schools in Milwaukee, WI. He worked briefly as an actor in two Broadway plays, then as a newspaperman in Chicago, Detroit, New Orleans, Boston, Washington, Los Angeles, and New York. His book Bat Masterson was the basis for the television series (NBC, 1958-61) of the same name. His manuscripts are held by Fogler Library at the University of Maine."

Series Books
Frank Archer
Other The Malabang Pearl [Joe Delaney] (1964)
  Out of the Blue (1964)
  The Widow Watchers [Joe Delaney] (1965)
  The Turquoise Spike [Joe Delaney] (1967)
  The Naked Crusader [Joe Delaney] (1972)
Richard O'Connor
Other Sheridan, The Inevitable [NF] (1953)
  High Jinks on the Klondike [NF] (1954)
  Johnstown the Day the Dam Broke [NF] (1957)
  Wild Bill Hickok [NF] (1959)
  Pat Garrett: A Biography [NF] (1960)
  Black Jack Pershing [NF] (1961)
  Gould's Millions [NF] (1962)
  Courtroom Warrior [NF] (1963)
  Jack London: A Biography [NF] (1964)
  Bret Harte: A Biography [NF] (1966)
  Ambrose Bierce: A Biography [NF] (1967)
  The Lost Revolutionary: A Biography of John Reed [NF] (1967)
  Sitting Bull, War Chief of the Sioux [NF] (1968)
  Pacific Destiny [NF] (1969)
  The First Hurrah: A Biography of Alfred E. Smith [NF] (1970)
  John Steinbeck [NF] (1970)
  Ernest Hemingway [NF] (1971)
  Sinclair Lewis [NF] (1971)
  Iron Wheels and Broken Men [NF] (1973)
  Heywood Broun: A Biography [NF] (1975)
Patrick Wayland
Lloyd Nicolson Counterstroke (1964)
  Double Defector (1965)
  The Waiting Game (1965)