1911 - 1981

Writing as: James H. Schmitz

James Henry Schmitz (October 15, 1911 – April 18, 1981) was an American science fiction writer born in Hamburg, Germany of American parents.

Schmitz was educated at a Realgymnasium in Hamburg, and grew up speaking both English and German. The family spent World War I in the United States, then returned to Germany. Schmitz traveled to Chicago in 1930 to go to business school, then switched to a correspondence course in journalism. Unable to find a job because of the Great Depression, he returned to Germany to work with his father's company. Schmitz lived in various German cities, where he worked for the International Harvester Company, until his family left shortly before World War II broke out in Europe.

During World War II, Schmitz served as an aerial photographer in the Pacific for the United States Army Air Forces. After the war, he and his brother-in-law managed a business which manufactured trailers until they ended the business in 1949.

After the war, he made his home in California, where he lived until his death.

Series Books
Agent of Vega Agent Of Vega (ss) (1949)
  The Truth About Cushgar (ss) (1950)
  Second Night of Summer (ss) (1950)
  Space Fear (ss) (1951)
  Agent of Vega (1960)
Other Legacy aka A Tale of Two Clocks [Hub Universe] (1962)
  The Universe against Her [Hub Universe] (1964)
  A Nice Day for Screaming [Hub Universe] (1965)
  The Demon Breed aka The Tuvela [Hub Universe] (1968)
  A Pride of Monsters (1970)
  The Lion Game [Hub Universe] (1973)
  The Telzey Toy [Hub Universe] (1973)
  Eternal Frontier (1973)
  The Best of James Schmitz (1988)
  Telzey Amberdon [Hub Universe] (1992)
  T'n'T [Hub Universe] (2000)
  Trigger and Friends [Hub Universe] (2001)
  Dangerous Territory [Hub Universe] (2001)
  The Winds of Time (2008)