1859 - 1935

Writing as: Fred M. White

Frederick Merrick White (1859–1935) wrote a number of novels and short stories under the name "Fred M. White" including the six 'Doom of London' science-fiction stories, in which various catastrophes beset London. These include The Four Days' Night (1903), in which London is beset by a massive killer smog; The Dust of Death (1903), in which diphtheria infects the city, spreading from refuse tips and sewers; and The Four White Days (1903), in which a sudden and deep winter paralyses the city under snow and ice. These six stories all first appeared in Pearson's Magazine, and were illustrated by Warwick Goble. He was also a pioneer of the spy story, and in 2003, his series The Romance of the Secret Service Fund (written in 1899) was edited by Douglas G. Greene and published by Battered Silicon Dispatch Box.

According to the bio on Amazon: "Fred Merrick White (1859-1935), a British author of many novels and short stories under the name "Fred M. White", was born in 1859 in West Bromwich, a small town near Birmingham, England. The record of his birth indicates that his first name was actually "Fred" — not, as is often assumed, "Frederick." His second name "Merrick" was the maiden name of his mother, Helen, who married his father, Joseph, in West Bromwich in the September quarter of 1858. Before becoming a full-time writer, Fred M. White followed in his father's footsteps and worked as a solicitor's clerk in Hereford. By 1891, Fred M. White, then 31 years old, was working full-time as a journalist and author. The First World War and his 2 sons' war-time experiences as junior officers in the British military evidently influenced Fred M. White's writing during and after this conflict. His novel The Seed Of Empire, published in 1916, describes some of the early trench warfare in great detail—the places and happenings are historically accurate. A number of novels published in the 1920s describe the social changes caused by the war and the difficulties of ex-soldiers in fitting back into normal civilian life. Perhaps best known for his "Doom of London" stories, in which that city experiences a series of devastating catastrophes, Fred M. White produced a huge body of short stories and novels, mainly in the genres of crime, romance and science fiction. He was an avid golfer, which shows in some of his novels, along with fly-fishing and the card game of Bridge. Fred and his wife Clara spent their final years in Barnstaple in the County of Devon, an area which provided the backdrop for his novels The Mystery Of Crocksands, The Riddle Of The Rail, and The Shadow Of The Dead Hand. He died in the December quarter of 1935; his wife died in 1940."

Series Books
Newton Moore The Romance of the Secret Service Fund (1900)
  By Woman's Wit (ss) (1900)
  The Mazaroff Rifle (ss) (1900)
  In The Express (ss) (1900)
  The Almedi Concession (ss) (1900)
  The Other Side Of The Chess-Board (ss) (1900)
  Three Of Them (ss) (1900)
Other The Crimson Blind (1905)
  The Cardinal Moth (1905)
  The Slave of Silence (1906)
  The Weight of the Crown (1906)
  The Sundial (1908)
  The Five Knots (1908)
  The Mystery of the Four Fingers (1908)
  The Mystery of the Ravenspurs (1911)
  Hard Pressed (1913)