1941 -

Writing as: Rhys Bowen

According to the bio on her website: "Rhys Bowen was born in Bath, England, of a family that was half Welsh, half English. She was educated at London University and then began her career with the BBC, where she became a drama studio manager. She had made up stories all her life. While working on a boring play she decided to write a play of her own. With the bravado of a 22-year-old, she marched into the office of the head of BBC drama and handed him the script. Two days later he summoned her and told her that they were going to produce the play. Rhys has never looked back.

The British climate forced Rhys to escape to Australia, where she worked for Australian Broadcasting before meeting her future husband, a fellow Brit who was on his way to California. So Rhys packed up again and found herself in San Francisco, where she settled and has lived ever since, raising four children.

Finding nothing like the BBC in San Francisco, Rhys turned to writing children’s books under her married name, Janet Quin-Harkin. Her first picture book was an immediate success and won several awards. More picture books followed, then her agent asked her to write a book for young adults. This was a turning point in Rhys’s career. Her first young adult novel was an instant hit. By her third she was selling half a million copies. Many more popular YA novels followed until Rhys decided she had said all she wanted to say about teenage love and angst, and she turned to her real love—mysteries."

Series Books
Lady Georgiana Her Royal Spyness (2008)
  A Royal Pain (2008)
  Royal Flush (2009)
  Royal Blood (2010)
  Naughty In Nice (2011)
  The Twelve Clues of Christmas (2012)
  Heirs and Graces (2013)
  Queen of Hearts (2014)
  Malace at the Palace (2015)
  Crowned and Dangerous (2016)
  On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service (2017)
  Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding (2018)
  Love and Death Among The Cheetahs (2019)
  The Last Mrs. Summers (2020)
  God Rest Ye, Royal Gentlemen (2021)
  Peril In Paris (2023)
  The Proof Of The Pudding (2023)