1954 -

Writing as: Lee Child


Born in Coventry, England, but raised largely in Birmingham, James Grant, aka Lee Child, attended law school but his first major job was as a presentation director for Granada Television in Manchester. He stayed at that occupation until he was 40 at which time he and lots more were let go as part of a restructuring. Needing a new line of work, he decided to try his hand at writing and his first book, Killing Floor, was an immediate success. He has since moved to Manhattan.

Series Books
Jack Reacher Killing Floor (1997)
  Die Trying (1998)
  James Penney's New Identity (ss) (1999)
  Tripwire (1999)
  Running Blind (2000)
  Echo Burning (2001)
  Without Fail (2002)
  Persuader (2003)
  The Enemy (2004)
  One Shot (2005)
  The Hard Way (2006)
  Bad Luck And Trouble (2007)
  Nothing To Lose (2008)
  Guy Walks Into A Bar (ss) (2009)
  Gone Tomorrow (2009)
  Worth Dying For (2010)
  61 Hours (2010)
  The Affair (2011)
  Second Son (ss) (2011)
  Everybody Talks (ss) (2012)
  Deep Down (ss) (2012)
  Jack Reacher's Rules (2012)
  A Wanted Man (2012)
  High Heat (ss) (2013)
  Never Go Back (2013)
  Not A Drill (ss) (2014)
  Good and Valuable Consideration (ss) (2014)
  Personal (2014)
  Make Me (2015)
  Small Wars (ss) (2015)
  No Room At The Motel (ss) (2015)
  The Picture Of The Lonely Diner (ss) (2015)
  Night School (2016)
  Maybe They Have A Tradition (ss) (2016)
  The Midnight Line (2017)
  Faking A Murderer (ss) (2017)
  Too Much Time (ss) (2017)
  No Middle Name (2017)