1923 - 1993

Writing as: John Blackburn

Born and raised in Northumberland, he was attending Durham University when WWII began. He enlisted in the merchant marines and served as a radio officer until the war ended. He returned to the college and earned his bachelor's. For a brief period he was a teacher but then moved into the publishing world. His novels, be they the Charles Kirk spy novels or his detective tales, all moved into the horror genre making them fairly unique.

Series Books
Charles Kirk Scent Of New Mown Hay (1958)
  A Sour Apple Tree (1958)
  Broken Boy (1959)
  The Gaunt Woman (1962)
  Colonel Bogus (1964)
  Wreath Of Roses (1965)
  Nothing But The Night (1968)
  The Young Man From Lima (1968)
  For Fear Of Little Men (1972)
Other Dead Man Running (1960)
  Blue Octavo aka Bound To Kill (1963)
  The Winds of Midnight aka Murder at Midnight (1964)
  Children of the Night (1966)
  The Flame and the Wind (1967)
  Bury Him Darkly (1969)
  Blow the House Down (1970)
  The Household Traitors (1971)
  Devil Daddy (1972)
  Deep Among the Dead Men [Bill Easter] (1973)
  Our Lady of Pain (1974)
  Mister Brown's Bodies [Bill Easter] (1975)
  The Face of the Lion (1976)
  The Cyclops Goblet [Bill Easter] (1977)
  Dead Man's Handle (1978)
  The Sins of the Father (1979)
  A Beastly Business (1982)
  A Book of the Dead (1984)
  The Bad Penny (1985)